Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think is a positive or negative development?

It is quite often said that world has become a village and everyone is living more or less similar way. Moreover, people across the countries buy the same items and use it in defined manner. Some people see this as a negative development, but I believe that world is most likely to get benefit owing to usage of similar products.

People who see this as negative trend have some rationale behind this. Firstly, glimpse of local culture is diminishing day by day because people use the imported items or buy items from multinational companies’ outlet. Multinational national companies have standardization in their products globally, resulting same kind of products is sold and used by the people. For example, my grandfather bought the fridge which was local made and looks distinctive but such fridge have been phased out and available one in market are identical to being sold in other countries. Secondly, local craft and industry is dying because they are not able to compete with the global giants. Global giants have big market accessibility in contrast to local entrepreneurs and have more competitive edge. Consequently, local players are either shut their business or merged with global companies.

However, there are different benefits of same product being sold worldwide. It not only brings the standardization in items but also provide an opportunity to underdeveloped countries to use quality products. It is generally seen that people in underdeveloped countries are rarely exposed to quality products by local vendor. Incorporation of identical style of products exposes the local vendor. For instance, African automobile company provides the safety features at very high cost, while arrival of multinational company forced them provide extra features within same price.

In the conclusion, using same item worldwide certainly affecting the native environment and traditional products but it is important for every individual to be aware about the quality products and use it in best possible manner and this is definitely the positive trend.