Crime rate in most countries is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that it is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

It is undisputable that the number of crimes in cities is greater compared to villages in majority of the nations in the world. So many researches have been conducted to analyze this aspect. Likewise, this essay also will discuss on this issue along with the solutions to handle this problem.

To a greater extent, the anti-social activities are committed by immigrants from rural areas, who unfortunately suffer from poverty. This is because, when the city becomes over-populated, it is unable to provide sufficient employment opportunities and this Result in improper supply and demand scenario. Consequently, the section of population below poverty line inflates and the destitute are effortlessly lured into criminal activities. Another cause for ascending in crime downtown is the increase in drugs and alcohol usage than in villages. For instance, alcohol has become a social norm in cities and eventually many social drinkers gradually deteriorate to alcoholism. Eventually, when juveniles get addicted to drug abuse, they become psychologically weak and hence, they become an easy target for anti-social elements.

To curtail the above mentioned issues, authorities should analyze the reason for the mass movement from villages to cities and fill the gap accordingly. For instance, decline of income generated through agriculture is a key cause for the migration. Hence, we have to discover ways to restore farming to its older glory. This can be accomplished by educating farmers to utilize modern techniques in agriculture. Therefore, they can achieve a financially stable situation through agriculture as well. Moreover, there should be more awareness created among people regarding the harm caused by drugs and liquor. For example, Non-governmental organizations and the government should go hand in hand and conduct awareness programs among youth. Moreover, schools and families in cities should be conducive to the moral upbringing of youngsters. Hence, we can avoid them go astray and curtail a major cause for the growth of crime.

Concisely, controlling the population in cities by providing better employment opportunities in villages and regulating substance addiction will assist us in bringing down the crime in urban areas.