In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The advancement in medical technology has extensively prolonged human life. As the average life expectancy increases, so do the associated problem growth. Although these problems do not existed before, they are surmountable.

The first and foremost issue introduced is that extra resources are needed to allocate to this ageing population. Not surprisingly, healthcare system, housing and transportation are all needed to enhance to cater their distinct needs. These additional resources will become extra burden on government, inevitably resulting to tax added on working class individuals. Secondly, some elderly whose spouse has been passed away may feel lonely, leading to anxiety and depression. As these two social issues hinder our society from moving forward, we must address them accordingly.

There are multifarious solutions to these problems. Primarily, governments can postpone the retirement age of these peoples, this allows them to not only contribute society continuously, but also generate the revenue to government. Looking back the reason why the life expectancy is increasing, the medical advancement has evolved to such a degree that the elderly are healthier than before. Their health condition are good enough to continue working. Moreover, governments should work with local community to organize some activities to elderly. For example, the local schools can invite the elderly to give a talk about their past story to the school children. This can benefit both the school children and the elderly as the children can learn their valuable experience while the elderly can fuse with the society again.

Admittedly, this ageing group does create problems which do not exist before. However, these seemingly insurmountable problems actually can be tackled by the joint effort of both governments and public. In my opinion, elderly process an irreplaceable experience and it can definitely benefit all of us.