Developments of technology are causing environmental problems. Some people think the solution is that everyone should accept a simpler life, while other believe that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both view and give your opinion

The negative impact on environment caused by new forms of technology are becoming more serious. Although some people think that becoming less dependent on technology and living a simple life is only solution. In my opinion, I believe that there are innovations that could address those environmental issues.

On the one hand, the use of fossil fuels in industry, agriculture and other human activities is a cause of the dramatically increase of the total amount of carbon dioxide in atmosphere which is the culprit of various negative consequence such as global warming and the enhanced greenhouse effect (greenhouse effect is a natural phenomenon); even the most uninformed people could realize that. A typical example of this perception is the Earth Hour campaign, which is a symbolic action to encourage individuals, organizations and communities to turn off the electrical lights for one hour and raise awareness of society about saving energy and reducing the environmental issues caused by the electrical devices.

On the other hand, the innovations in technology in the last decade have contributed to environmental protection. First, to cut carbon emissions, scientists have invented various products which are eco- friendly such as the electric car. Second, many new inventions and discoveries in technology are used to create new materials and solutions to alleviate plastic pollution which is a big burden on the ecosystems, nowadays. A concrete example is a new discovery of an enzyme in body structure of a worm. This worm can digest plastic, using it for food. Breeding this worm for use garbage processing will prevent over 5 billion tons of unrecyclable plastic from polluting the environment.

Taking all of this into account, the simpler life is not the unique choice to prevent the environmental issues because the advances in technology in the future could tackle these problems.