Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support

It is often seen that universities and colleges are given aid for classes and libraries, but very less fund is allocated to extracurricular activities such as sports, social, culture programs. This has always been the subject of debate whether an equal amount of aid should be given to academics and extra curriculum purpose. I believe that all-round development requires both sound academics and acumen in sports and behavior. I shall explain why I think like this.

In developing countries, special preference is given to academics over extra-curricular activities because students and parents see the enormous opportunities after completion of degree or acquire skills in particular area. Since most of the focus is on study, extra financial support is given in the area of academics. For example, my university keeps on getting an aid for starting new course but rarely gets an aid on extracurricular activities.

However, people who achieved the height in any field always give paramount preferences to sports and social activities. Sports help to develop stamina and promote healthy life style. Nowadays, in many schools, sports have become compulsory subject. Furthermore, social skills are very important in every stage of life and people pay extra attention to these kinds of skills. For instance, management courses has special subject to groom the individuals in these area in order to prepare for future challenges. Therefore, it is evident that sports and social events also help in tackling future challenges.

To sum up, classrooms and libraries are places to get the knowledge in particular subjects or area and it is widely used in employment also. Nevertheless, sports and people interaction based activities are equally used. Therefore, equal financial support should be given in both areas.