Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the vie

With the advent of globalisation more innovative methods are applied by organisations while recruiting workforce, this includes multiple rounds of interviews, collecting information from a prospective employee that sometimes include personal information such as hobbies, interests, passion, strengths, marital status and so on. It has become a topic of debate for many people, whether this personal information is relevant for the employer or not? This essay will discuss both the views and draw an appropriate conclusion.

To begin with, providing personal details helps human resource manager to understand the individual's profile better. To exemplify, if a job requires frequent travelling and a person applying for this job is single and his hobby is travelling will suit this job profile better than a person who is married and prefer desk job. Thus, this personal information is used by employer whilst evaluating different candidates. Moreover, employers use this data to wish employees on their birthdays and anniversaries, this makes a healthy environment at work. Besides this, employers also arrange some recreational activities to motivate their employees based on the hobbies and interests written in personal profile of employees.

Approaching from another school of thoughts, some people believe it is of no use to give personal information and assert to provide details of the academic and professional background. Further, they think nobody actually pays attention to the data filled in a personal information space and it is merely a formality. Furthermore, people with conflicting views assume giving too much personal information to the employer is not advisable as this may be misused or shared to third party vendors for marketing and other purposes.

To recapitulate, I think giving personal information to employer fosters a good relationship and understanding. It is used in an appropriate and constructive way, so accurate should be provided at the time of recruitment process.