Essay topics: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Legacy and inheritance are commonly passed to future generation in order to revive the culture, traditions, jobs etc…Following this, while some people believe that children should follow the job of their parents and adopt the similar profession in their life, other disagree. I believe that children should choose their profession as what they like. I shall explain why I think like this.

People who believe that children should select the job related to their parent’s job have some valid points. Firstly, it is universally truth that parents are the best choice for any kind of learning if they can teach to their kids. There is natural bonding exists between children and parents which makes the learning easy and communication gap is also reduced up-to some extent. Secondly, parents go through different phases of life and acquire the skills while working in their profession. Individual may get the knowledge from books but for experience, one has to work in different condition and acquire the detailed working knowledge. Valuable experience may be passed to next generation and will be of great help to face the challenges. For example, my friend who has become highly proficient doctor by studying the medicine and get valuable tricks from his father.

However, this is also true that everyone has different choices and skills so it is basic right of person to select the job which he or she likes. It is quite often seen that parents and children has completely different interests and if children are forced to adopt the work which they dislike, it may be catastrophic for the future. Furthermore, skills levels are very crucial in executing the work and wide gap in skill level may cause serious consequences in performing the work. For instance, Rohan Gavakser, a son of legend batsman had to switch to different profession owing to less proficiency in cricket.

To conclude, though adopting the same profession like parents help the children to learn fast and acquire experience without actually going through these, children should be given the choice to select the area of work as per their interest and comfort level.