Essay topics: News stories on TV and in newspaper are often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this.

Nowadays, new stories play an important role in broadening our knowledge as well as informing us of everyday occurrences around the world. Most news reports are also added with several strike images. However, it is argued that the photographs are more valuable and useful than words in articles. The following paragraphs will discuss this view and my own perception.

It is reasonable to believe that the photographs of a news story are more effective in contrast with the numerous words. First of all, pictures can express the situation of a certain event or incident more directly and efficiently, as people are able to obtain the basic information by merely spending a few seconds browsing those photographs. In addition, a series of researches have also demonstrated that most people have impressive proficiency in assimilating the information or data depicted by pictures rather than words, since human memory is more sensitive to visual images. Therefore, even after a long period, the memory of a certain news story still can be triggered by going through relevant pictures.

On the other hand, some people believe that words are the more effective than pictures. The words provide us with more comprehensive and specific account of a certain occurrence, which contributes to promoting our understanding. A research news article, for instance, the data results can be directly displayed by pictographs, but the painstaking procedures and conclusion must be described with words for readers to comprehend. In the light of such fact, pictures sometimes are solely the auxiliary components of a news article.

In my opinion, words and pictures are the equally crucial parts of a news report. Pictures enables readers to quickly and easily acquire and remember the basic information while words are beneficial to the comprehension of the whole news story.