Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. How far do you share this view point?

Nowadays helping charity is a highly fashionable grand gesture which has led some to believe that this has to be a must for everyone. It seems to me that helping charity with money is rather an ethical question rather than an obligation.

Firstly, people work to earn money and that makes them entitled to what they have earned. This gives them the right to decide how to spend it or what to spend it on. This is a right no one can rob people of even with good intentions. Furthermore, no one can determine whether earners need their earned income themselves or they have some extra to spend other ways. Finally, money is not the only possible way to help charity. This means people can come up with numerous methods to assist these foundations rather than being obliged to give up a share of their money against their will. Hardly does the idea of being forced into doing something sounds pleasing to anyone. Admittedly extorting money from people is not a really prestigious way to help these institutions.

While it may be correct that allocating a fixed sum of anyone’s income to charity is a truly brilliant idea, it still appears to be the case, however, that this extremely precious gesture is only valuable if people do it willingly.

To conclude, the idea of imposing a positive act on people tends to be unappealing. Supporting charity is sensible if only people mean to do it, otherwise not only would it be seen just something similar to tax which is not pleasant, but also it would be abhorred shortly defying the nature of charity.