Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness.

A well-being of a person is often measured by his/her happiness. Happiness is also a measure of success for some whereas for some it is a measure of mental peace. Whichever might be your personal definition of happiness, will always be true for your life.

Happiness is a very subjective as well as open-ended term which is still undefined. It is very difficult to define happiness for people, as we all are rational beings and thought process of every individual is different. Happiness is abstract as well as non-measurable and hence cannot be quantified to reach to a conclusive definition. Different people can have varied opinions on their definition of happiness. For example, a person working in a city will have a seven digit salary as a measure of happiness whereas a student studying in the same city will have good marks as a measure of his/her happiness. Happiness, therefore cannot be defined under common grounds.

Hard work is one of the most important factors for achieving happiness. In today's world happiness is more or less related to a person's achievements in his/her personal and professional life. Along with hard work, balance is also an important factor to achieve happiness in a holistic way. The word 'balance' is not only limited to personal and professional life but also with mind-body and inner-outer world balance.

To conclude i would say happiness in any form should not be kept confined to oneself and should be translated to others by actions.