The idea of going overseas for university study is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulties a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree this statement?

The curiosity of studying overseas among the adolescents has never been faded, especially for those who are planning for university studying since there are a considerable number of advantages to them. However, not every of them enjoys the benefits. In this essay, both side of compelling arguments will be discussed.

To begin with the opponents, they believe that these young generations are not mature enough to handle different life difficulties on their own. For most of them, studying university overseas is the first time they separate from their parent. Even though they usually need not to worry about the tuition fee, there are still many challenges which can formerly rely on their parent such as cooking and accommodation that they need to work on alone, not to mention if the student get sick. If they are fail to handle these kinds of basic need, they have no way but returning back to their home country.

However, some peoples believe that these living encounters can be at the same time beneficial to the students. Indeed, it is the oversea study that can propel the students to be more independent and responsible due to that fact that they need to seek for the solution for themselves when they encounter different difficulties, especially suitable to this era of students. Taking the example in China, many of the students are bringing up to be over reliance upon their parent, which is the result of one child policy enacted in China. Inevitably, these students generally lack of living skill and usually grow into irresponsible person. Taking them to oversea study is one of the best ways for them to practice their living skill and gives them the sense of responsibility on their own life.

All in all, overseas study has both advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, even though overseas study does have negative consequences and not all students can enjoy the benefits, I would still advocate that the students should take this opportunity as long as they prepare themselves both mentally and physically before starting the adventures.