Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you this might be effective?

In today’s world, man’s overreliance on private cars has escalated the problems of pollution and traffic congestion. However, it is commonly believed that to tackle such challenges increasing the prices of fossil fuels is the optimum approach. I agree with the view in some circumstances, but other steps can also reverse the situation.

It is reasonable to consider that a surge in the prices of petrol could play a significant role in reducing pollution and improving traffic. First of all, it can effectively minimize people’s reliance on cars and encourage more individuals to take public transports. As a result, the number of vehicles running on the roads will be substantially lowered, thereby reducing the amount of car exhaust. In addition, this approach could also increase the popularity of active travel, such as walking and cycling, which is also consistent with the universal principle of promoting environmentally-friendly transport modes.

On the other hand, it is worth mentioning that other approaches could also help with addressing the issues. Firstly, the government ought to divert more public funds to the development of renewable resources, including solar and geothermal energy, which contributes to the preservation of the environment as well as sustainable development. Secondly, more railways should be constructed to enhance municipal metro systems, as it provides inhabitants with more convenient ways to reach destinations, thereby also rekindling a growing number of individuals’ enthusiasm to utilize public transport.

To conclude with my opinion, it is unquestionable that increasing the prices of petrol can mitigate the problems of air pollution and traffic jams, as it drastically reduces people’s reliance on car usage. However, other measures also ease the problems, and these include developing renewable resources and building more railways.