It is important to construct common areas such as parks, playgrounds and squares in all towns and cities. Do you agree or disagree?

Public places such as parks and common squares are a kind of pleasure-space where the urban people sit and enjoy. I completely agree that more of such spaces should be built in cities.

Towns and cities do not have a lot of the green beauty and open fields found in the countryside. Instead, with growing modernization, the cities are getting filled up with din and dust and smoke, making people feel suffocated in this heavy atmosphere. They wish to enjoy the serenity of rural scenes which are not available in cities and towns, which is why many people build farm-houses and holiday homes away from the city for a weekend of peaceful and green atmosphere. A public park or a playground provides a taste of that to these busy people during their leisure-hours. Here they find a wealth of oxygen which is rare in other parts of the town, and families can have exciting picnics together and indulge in recreational activities like playing the frisbee, or taking their dog for a run.

A town square is commonly found in the heart of a traditional town used for community gatherings. They may house open markets, music concerts, bakeries and have a beautiful centre containing a fountain, or a statue. In most countries, automobiles are prohibited in these areas enabling people to walk around and eliminating the noise and pollution. People can gather here on weekends and have a fun outing for several hours for minimal costs since it’s freely accessible to all public. Such public squares, or civic centers encourage a sense of community and bond the society in harmony.

Due to the aforementioned reasons, it is necessary to build such community places in towns and cities. I feel they are necessary for the health and happiness of the town-dwellers.