Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does it cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

In Kazakhstan, many people are worried about the impact of supermarkets on local communities. Some economists say that they cause many difficulties to the public. This essay will consider these difficulties and suggest steps to convince people to purchase local products.

The first problem is the closure of small companies. When a supermarket opens in the region, many smaller stores start to suffer from an unequal competition with that mall. Another problem with large businesses is high prices. Once a low rivalry in the market is reached, malls gradually increase the prices for products and services, having no company which could compete with them. The last problem is stale products on sale. Supermarkets tend to buy items of food in large quantities at low prices. They do not refill their warehouses unless all these products are sold out; however, they often become stale after a month.

One of the measures to stimulate people to buy local products is to explain them that local food is fresher. Generally, regional manufacturers supple supermarkets with fresh food more frequently than those at large distances, so consumers are to give a greater preference to domestic products than imported food. Another measure is to local products more available. By lowering taxation for regional manufacturers, the government could encourage more people to buy local products since the manufactures would also reduce their prices.

In conclusion, supermarket cause many problems to the local market by squeezing out small businesses, increasing prices and selling outdated food. However, the government could raise interest in local products by showing how fresher the local food is and lowering the prices for it.