Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English. Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and so, if how.

English is a gateway to the world and no one should be deprived of the opportunities that arise for those with a strong command of the English language. However, this does not mean that local languages are dispensable. They have an equal and important role to play in supporting education and development of the society.

People who emphasize on learning local languages are those who are fluent in English language. Advocates of minority languages have to communicate in English language to support their research and the cause. In doing so, they are imparting the message that English is significant language too. Additionally, overseas students are greatly benefited and find it easy to adjust in new atmosphere when they have good command on English. Thus, it is unfair to willingly dispose of people of this ability to preserve tradition.

Admittedly, this does not mean that local languages can be downplayed or forgotten. People are more likely to succeed in their education and employment when they are immersed in their history and culture. Local dialects are part of this culture and history. Henceforth, methods to promote traditions, arts and culture immensely rely on prosperity and preservation of local languages. In this way, local dialects play bedrock for learning English. Moreover, local languages can be taught at school. More employment opportunities can be given to people who know multiple local languages along with English.

To sum up, learning English is important in today’s world and I feel it is unnecessary to say that English is causing local languages to lose from local diaspora. We should focus on developing both English and local languages by giving equal possibilities to lean.