In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

In modern society, human’s living standard has been rapidly enhanced due to a variety of life-altering benefits brought by contemporary technology. However, a surge in crime rate also indicates that our society is losing its moral compass and this pressing problem ought to be addressed as soon as possible. This essay will discuss the main causes of crime and the possible measures to tackle those causes.

A growing number of crimes is attributable to several reasons. The first one is poverty. In many impoverished countries, for instance, numerous citizens are even incapable of making ends meet and in desperate need of basic living standards; as a consequence, people gradually have a tendency to commit burglary or robbery to make a living. In addition, social problems such as inequality could also lead to an increase in crime rate. For instance, the minority of communities, including people of low socioeconomic status or from disadvantaged backgrounds, are excluded and treated unfairly, which may initially whip those people into a frenzy and afterwards culminate in a series of their anti-social actions such as arson and vandalism.

On the other hand, it is essential to taking effective actions to reverse the situation. First of all, the government should provide those affected by poverty with more opportunities to find a decent job, as it can effectively alleviate poverty. For instance, the government can employ those unemployed people as blue collar workers such as cleaners. In addition, the government should eliminate social inequality through education. For instance, college curriculum should emphasize more on sociology and philosophy, which contributes to raising the awareness of the importance and benefits of social equality. Therefore, people from different backgrounds will be offered the same opportunity to compete in society.

In summary, the increasing number of crimes could be caused by a wide range of factors including poverty and social inequality. However, we share a common responsibility to make joint efforts to arrest the deterioration and encourage each individual to be a law-abiding citizen.