In many countries children are engaged in different kinds of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What is your opinion?

Involving children in paid work is a crime in many countries and there are stringent laws to counter the child labour problems. On the contrary, some people think that children should be involved in paid work as it gives an opportunity to learn skills and experience the world in realistic manner. I believe that children should focus on study and not be involved in long term paid work.

People who support the idea of engaging children in various works have some rationale. First of all, children get the chance to see the life more closely. Parents love their children and pamper at home so much that sometime kids do not realize the hardship of life. Consequently, children become diffident and struggle in later phases of life. Secondly, by getting involved in work, children get in & out of that trade and not only acquire the new skills but also understand that fringe elements of that trade such as working environment, career opportunities etc... For example, my niece love to make various items out of wood but when she was made to involve in carpentry work, she realized how labour intensive is the carpentry work.

However, when children are involved in work for earning their livelihood, so many problems occurs. To begin with, children are forced to leave the school and temporary hired by agency for doing routine job. It has been observed that children are paid very nominal amount and made to involve in dangerous job, resulting in, and sometime loss of life. For instance, large numbers of children in African countries are involved in mines and in case of any mishap; they are ones who suffer in-variably. Furthermore, children initially join the paid work for some money but gradually deviate from study and end up being dropped out from school. As a result, they do not become fully qualified and do not get good jobs.

To conclude, children should not be involved in paid work as it increases so many problems in the society. However, to expose the different work experiences, hand-on work experience should be incorporated in their curriculum.