Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is common knowledge that nowadays a great number of ex-convicts carry out new offences after being released from prison. Which circumstances lead them to repeat their offences is a hotly-debated topic that often divides opinions. This essay will first address which are the reasons that result in this situation, followed by some proposals to end up with this problem.

One of the main problems that are currently affecting our societies is the “tough on crime”. In my opinion, measures such as imprisonment, parole or halfway houses are nowadays overused and they are not achieving its main objective which is the offenders´ reintegration. Conversely, they spark the opposite effect. One such instance could be the United States, which has the highest incarceration rate in the world, whilst it has also the highest number of re-offenders.

Furthermore, the government sponsored awareness campaigns are not reaching the key population, due to the fact that they are using the wrong channels to connect with them. If every measure is spread through mass media or lectures are given in state buildings, it will be difficult to have people, such as drug dealers, gang leaders or murderers listening to them.

It is my firm belief that societies can only avoid this controversial issue building community. Firstly, we must change their perception of being out of the community. This aiml could be reached through changing incarceration measures to performing community services. Moreover, it would be advisable to speak to them face-to-face in their neighborhoods with a view to avoiding bias against police or state representatives. This would be the perfect channel to contact them and make them aware of the situation.

In conclusion, only a few changes could produce a dramatic turn of events, if the authorities are able to make them feel part of our communities.