Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

For last two decades, parameters to measure the strength of country has changed and the only point which is taken into consideration is an economy of country. Almost every country is striving to be economically better than other by foreign direct investment, policy reform etc… On the other hand, some individuals believe that along with economy, other parameters are critical as well for making nation strong. I believe that aspiring to be drivers in business and trade is good sign but other parameters are also equally important.

People who believe government’s paramount goal is strengthen the economy have some valid points. First of all, strong business and financial position in turn better employment opportunities. It is generally considered that if business grows it generates employment and lots of people especially young people are benefited at most. In modern ear, particularly skilled people get hefty packages while supporting the technology driven business worldwide. For example, Indian IT professional are in high demand and support companies around the world. Secondly, fringe services are also demanded and help to increase per capita income which improves the condition of society all together.

However, other improvements in country can’t be neglected and have severe repercussion. In some country, social structure is in bad shape and until it is restructured, other improved parameter may not produce desired effects. For instance, in some Asian countries, women are suppressed badly and given second class citizen status which make them victim of rape, molestation and other exploitation. Pakistan’s recent journalist murder is horrible story and example of such cases.

To conclude, for improving the employment and infrastructure, economy has to be better and government must try to improve it but other progress such as health condition, reduce mortality rate etc. should not be neglected at all.