Many parents are unhappy with the amount of violence in video games, TV programs and other leisure activities. How harmful could this be to children? What could be done to solve this problem?

Playing games, watching movies and other leisure activities are considered an instrument of sound mental and physical health. These activities is proliferating and gaining fame among all age of groups-from adolescent to adults. However many parents are unhappy with harmful consequences of violence in video games, TV Programs and other activities because of following reasons.

First of all, many parents claimed that violent video games are prone to children. They argue that such games put negative effects among the teenagers. Investigators discovered that people who played violent games for three consecutive days showed increase in aggressive behavior and hostile expectation each day they played. Playing violent games could be compared to cigarettes. A single cigarette won’t cause lung cancer, but smoking over week or months or years greatly increase the risk, in the same way, repeated exposure to violent games may have a cumulative impact on aggression.

Similarly, atrocious TV programs and other activities have the same predicament to the violent video games. Psychological research has showed three major effect of seeing violence on television. First, children become less sensitive to the pain or suffering to others. Second, they may be more fearful of the world around them. And last, they may be more likely to behave in aggressive or harmful way towards others. For example, in several studies, those who watched a violent program instead of a nonviolent one were slower to intervene or to call for the help when a little saw younger children fighting or playing destructively.

To solve this problem, strong measures should be taken both the society and the government. The government should take exemplary actions against such violent activities and should be make regulations to resist the extreme violence in leisure activities and if necessary it should be banned. At the same time, the parents should control over their sons and daughters to accustomed to violent programs.