Many people believe that criminals should be imprisoned others however say they should do unpaid work that is beneficial for the community Discuss both view and your opinion

Nowadays, when you commit a crime, you go to prison. Many people are favor of this as they believe that they deserve to be imprisoned. some critics, however, say that there is an alternative of it for example they should do unpaid work that is beneficial for the community. I, in this essay, will weight on both of opinion before giving my own opinion.

On the one side, the people who are favor of imprisonment of crime believe that it is lucrative for both society and criminal as well. There are so many dangerous and violent criminals who put the society in precarious state like terrors, drugs dealers etc. and they deserve to be imprisoned with life sentences. Secondly, Prison, sometimes, gives offenders the chance to reflect on their actions and gives them time to reform their behaviors. But the same time, we cannot avert or ignore the disadvantages of it. Keep criminal in jail are very costly. it incurs massive government funding like recruitment of police officers, their hefty salaries, expense on loading and boarding of criminals etc. Not only that, prison records of lawbreaker make it difficult for him to get a job on release which can lead back into crime which is one of the major cons.

On the other side, by citing the above mentioned criticism, some people argue that the wrongdoers should indulge in work for society at free of cost which is beneficial not for community but also for offender. For example, the errant people like pickpocket, shoplifter who become frail and lethargic and by doing unpaid work instead of imprisonment learn something different, new and help to boost in self esteem and open a door with many opportunities.

In conclusion, at my opinion, second alternative is much effective in case of less serious crime and for another kind of actions they should have to pay for it.