Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

To what extent do you agree?

Two days ago, I read an article about the impact that the news about famous people on youngsters in Kazakhstan. In the article, some social workers state that it is disadvantageous to them. However, some journalists argue that its influence is neutral. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea of negative consequences.

Let us start with the reasons why some social workers advocate that the information about celebrities in the media has an unfavorable influence on children. The first reason is that it usually instills false values. Many teenagers, for example, become rebellious to their parental recommendations, when they hear on TV that their favorite celebrities are disobedient to their parents, but they are reluctant to believe that this news might be irrelevant to their private lives and often intended to attract more viewers. Another reason is that it may lead to misunderstanding. Many children face rejection in society, because they tend to copy the unacceptable behavioral patterns of their idols, which is widely covered in both the newspapers and television. Therefore, after the analysis of these reasons, it is clear that media coverage about celebrities affects children negatively.

Nevertheless, some journalists think that it has no negative impact on the youth. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, it generally informs children about celebrities with socially accepted background. TV programs, for instance, mainly broadcasts inspiring stories about famous people, since this type of news attracts a larger audience, which boosts their sales of advertising time. Secondly, it frequently rejects to cover infamous individuals. Even though community readily listens to the news about scandals in popular families, mass media tend to decline to take advantage of it, as it can ruin the mental development of immature people. As a result, after the consideration of these arguments, it is obvious that media coverage about celebrities largely raises indifferent emotions in youngsters.

In conclusion, although some journalists say that their work about popular individuals usually causes no detrimental effect on youngsters, I believe that it is harmful to children for the above mentioned reasons.