Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in their neighborhood, this should be the residents’ responsibility, while others think it should be the government’s duty. What is your opinion?

The responsibility taken to maintain a clean and tidy street is a hotly-debated issue that often divides opinion. Some would argue that it is the duty of the government, while others cite that it is the responsibility of a citizen. Although governments collect taxes from people to remove garbage from the streets, I believe that people should be self-responsible and keep their city clean.

On the one hand, people are paying a hefty amount to the government in the form of taxes. In many countries, these taxes include environment tax also, which means it is the responsibility of the authorities to support a clean and green environment. For example, in India, there is a special cess of 2.5% on all consumables for preserving the environment clean, which is referred to as “Swatcha Bharath Tax”. However, this trend will not help unless and until people join their hands together with the government.

On the other hand, people should take initiation to keep their surroundings clean. They cannot just throw up their hands by paying taxes and blame the government for not keeping the city clean, moreover, they should voluntarily come up with some innovative ideas to make the streets of the neighborhood more beautiful. To illustrate, in Bangalore, many IT employees have joined as volunteers to clean the street of a huge market. I believe that this approach of taking initiation helps to keep up the city clean

To conclude, Even though the governments are doing their job to maintain the streets dirt free, I think it is mainly the responsibility of an Individual to keep his surroundings hygiene.