Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals. What are the advantages to this? Do your think the advantages overweigh the disadvantages?

It is a widely known fact that treated and instant foods consist of chemical preservatives and this has become almost inevitable in the recent days. However, like any other advancement of technology, even this has its own edges and downside. This essay will discuss about this practice and analyze if disadvantages dominate advantages.

First and foremost, using chemicals prolongs the preservation duration of the substance. This assists us in transporting the commodity to faraway destinations. For instance, pickled indigenous vegetables and meat are moved across the world. Hence, we have the edge of relishing tastes unknown to us till now. Moreover, usage of artificial additives undermines the fermentation of microbes. Consequently, the foodborne diseases are regulated.

Contrarily, when preservative medium are metabolized, they produce carcinogenic substances. For example, treated vegetable oils contain less polyunsaturated fat and higher levels of trans-fat. Consequently, this trans-fat increases the risk of cancer. Furthermore, a considerable chunk of people are found to be allergic to certain preservative mediums. This can be seen in case of emulsifiers that aggravate asthma in patients. Additionally, chemicals used for this purpose, reduce the nutrition content of foodstuff. As an example, many water soluble materials are lost by the end of processing food and hence, the main purpose of supplementing nutrients is unachieved.

In a nutshell, from the above composition I find that, though there are a few benefits owing to the usage of the chemical additives in preserving food, the disadvantages outweigh them and hence, this process is often detrimental.