Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Presently many people hardly imagine their life without devices. However, some people think that household appliances pose many problems. This essay will consider both the positive and negative points, concluding with the opinion that they bring more advantageous effects on families.

Let us start with the positive sides of using machines at home. The ability to spend more time on enjoyable things is one of the merits. People, who are busy working, usually have little time for their children and hobbies. However, with the help of modern appliances they can submit themselves to these pleasant activities longer. Another positive side of using household techniques is that they can spare labor-consuming tasks. Many wifes just load a washing machine or dishwasher rather than their grandmothers would regularly do these chores manually. The last benefit is that these devices secure better results than humans. In comparison to people, computerized machines usually show high-quality results, since they operate in various modes and never change intensity.

Despite the above mentioned advantages, household apparatus have a few drawbacks. The first disadvantage is that these devices often malfunction. As other appliances in houses, washing machines, for instance, tend to stop functioning, when the voltage either increases or drops dramatically. Another negative side is the development of heavy reliance on such devices. It often occurs that people are unaware of what to do when a electricity blackout lingers for more than one hour. Consequently, they reluctantly resort to traditional methods of doing around the house. The last demerit of utilizing machines in home is that they require delicate usage. People are prone to breaking fragile details, for example, by forgetting to clean the inside of a dishwasher after having been exploiting for a long time.

In conclusion, although household apparatus may cause some inconvenience, they bring many more benefits than drawbacks. In fact, they often save families from many difficulties as well as service far beyond the warranty period provided people follow the user manual thoroughly.