Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, People are more interested in holding fashionable wedding ceremonies and they spend a big amount of money for celebrating their marriage parties, while it was totally different in the past. There are several reasons for this scheme and I believe that the disadvantages by far outweigh the advantages.

There are some determinant factors that cause expensive marriages become more popular among people. Firstly, the families try to show off in the society and show their wealth, authority and fame to the other people. Take prominent Hollywood actors for example, who like to be on the tabloids or on the News and by holding the expensive parties can increase their popularity among their advocates. Secondly, trendy wedding parties are more appealing to the young couples and they like to pursue the latest fashions and trends and are interested in spending expenditures on the dress, cake, international cuisines and the like. Finally, Life was much simpler in the past and there was not a variety of options for individuals to opt.

I strongly believe that this trend is negative and it had some detrimental effects on society. For example, getting married becomes more complicated especially for those who are not wealthy enough to hold such parties with a big amount of expenditures. Besides, the marriage average age will arise and we will see that less people are interested in getting married. Consequently, there would be a wide generation gap between parents and children as a result of increasing in marriage age.

To sum up, holding marriage parties are more intricate than in the past and it had deterring effects on getting married. Consequently, it will lead to some difficulties in the society which should be addressed by government authorities.