‘The media plays a valuable role in keeping us informed and entertained. However, many people believe it has too much power and freedom.’ Discuss your views on this, giving examples and presenting a balanced argument both in favour of, and against, the power and freedom of the media.

It is irrefutable to say that, Media plays an important role in ours’ daily life. Some people believe that, Media should have freedom so that it would reveal truth; while on the other hand, some people argue that media should be restricted. The following essay would explain about various arguments both in favour of, and against, the media power and freedom.

There are myriads of reasons in the favour of media, the most conspicuous one is that media share useful information and entertain people and in today’s world media helps to inform people about government. Not only media expose corrupt politicians but also politicians have fear of media that if they do something wrong they would have to explain about their wrong acts, policies and corruption. Moreover, media expose corruption deals. For example, Panama leaks. In addition, media also provide good entertainment stuff, such as, movies, songs, wildlife, weather forecast and family shows.

Nevertheless, it is also evident that the power and freedom of media without responsibility had proven adverse effects on the society.

In the contrary, Media freedom is problem, when media expose and try to interfere personal life’s of politicians, celebrities and other famous personality. Media wrongly interfere in the personal lives to increase the audience and ratings.

Hence, it is cleared media should have restrictions and governments should impose some policies to define certain boundaries for the media.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that, without the shadow of a doubt, Media advantages overweigh its disadvantages and to make it better government and law enforcement agencies should take a part.