More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of the computer and the widespread use of the internet, people have changed the way they perform everyday tasks. An increasing number of corporations believe in letting employees work full-time or part-time from home and thousands of people are doing freelancing to earn their livings. The following essay will discuss the pros and cons sides over this change.

A recent poll shows that people lose self-control and discipline easily while they perform professional work via telecommuting. Because people are given more freedoms to deal with the tasks and without a strict deadline, they often mixed their professional attitude with their personal life. They often lie to their employers and thus perform poorly.

On the contrary, imagine that there is no one looking over your shoulder and enforcing strict hours and because of that you may feel tempted to work endlessly. That can strongly influence your working effectively. Therefore, there are other issues emerged that employees can't get along well with others since everyone just concentrating on their missions and it's easy to be overlooked.

Nevertheless, other people propose that the argument above is merely a one-sided story, by working at home you save on many hidden costs associated with going to work. These include costs of commuting, car purchasing, fuel costs, and parking spots as well. Moreover, flexible time and comfortable workplace provides employees more inspirations and creatively, since thinking out of the box is essential for those who work in advertising companies, IT firms and in other fields of works that require creativity. Without the stresses and strict monitoring from the office, working independently in their own preferred environment at their own pace, professionals are often a lot happier and a lot more productive.

In conclusion, it depends on companies current situations to consider whether to allow employees work from home or not. For my view, as a designer, I prefer to work from home since it gives me more inspirations and freedom.