Not so many people use a bicycle although it has many benefits. Why is this the case? How to encourage people to use bicycles as a main transport?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is a well-known fact that there are many benefits of cycling; however, not a lot of people use bicycles. This is due to the perception that other vehicles are much faster to travel by. The best way to encourage cycling is for governments to raise awareness of its advantages.

Not many people prefer to use bicycles as a mode of transport as it is a lot slower to travel around these days if compared to other vehicles. When travelling long distances, riding a bicycle is not as feasible as driving a car or even taking the train. In Melbourne, for instance, driving motorised vehicles or taking public transport are preferred over riding bicycles unless within the CBD. This is simply due to the simple fact that other forms of transport are much faster and cuts down on travel times. Hence, because bicycles are slower compared to other vehicles, it is not as popular to use them.

Governments should play a larger role in promoting the advantages of riding bicycles to encourage people to cycle as their main form of transport. By doing this in schools or in the media, it can educate the public on its many benefits. For instance, the Australian government has time and time again brought awareness of sustainable transport to the public and has encouraged the use of bicycles rather than cars due to increased global warming from the burning of fossil fuels. This has been evident in more cyclist routes within the Melbourne CBD to support this project which has encouraged many city dwellers to use bicycles as their main transport. Therefore, greater promotion of using bicycles by governments are the best way to motivate people to use bicycles as their main means to travel.In conclusion, cycling is not seen as a main way to travel because of its speed; however, if governments can encourage its use more, there is no doubt that people will begin to see its benefits and change their habits