Nowadays children spend more time playing computer games than doing sports why is it happening? Does it have a positive or negateive effect on thier development?

In today's modern world, computer is not merely a luxury, indeed, it has become a necessity. Although, many people think, it is beneficial for the personality development of a child. However, I firmly believe, it is not completely true, in fact, it is being used unwisely and hence it is turning into a social stigma.

To embark, development of a child means that he should be doing well both physically and mentally. Though, computer when arrived twenty years ago in my country seemed to be a boon but now it would not be justified to say so. The reason is that children nowadays overuse it. Although, there are various factors responsible for it but most important cause is the feasible accessibility to unlimited knowledge. They now can get their hands on almost every piece of information easily whether it is good or bad. Not just that, they can play games with their distant friends but they also have the opportunity to make slew friends on social sites like Facebook and Twitter. They not only chat with their friends, in fact, they also get to read about the celebrities life's which is quite intresting for them.

Though, there are several pros of using computer like you get a chance to learn new skills such as dance, painting etc. In addition, you can utilize it to improve knowledge but it should be used moderately. As we all know, extreme of anything is dangerous and technology is not an exception as it has detrimental impact on the health of children. It leads to many problems like Obesity, weakness of eye-sight and spine disorder. Furthermore, there are many ill-legal web sites which contains stuff that is lethal for the immature mind's of naive children to absorb.

To recapitulate, I would like to state assertively that one should definitely allow children to use computer for legitimate amount of time under the supervision of parents or teachers. This will enlighten their mind but we should also encourage children to play sports as well because it makes them strong and healthy and enhance their overall development.