Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks.

Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, some schools sell dishes such as sugary drinks or fast food to students during their breaks. In my opinion, it is a negative development for the pupils since these products are excessively unhealthy and schoolchildren are at risk of getting accustomed to eating junk food regularly instead of healthy food.

Junk food and pop drinks are deeply detrimental for students’ flourishment. This is because this type of items does not provide sufficient vitamins, minerals and substances which are vital for them to flourish vigorously. Apart from that, when they consume these types of products, they gain weight, suffer from high blood pressure and risk themselves to have a heart attack in their maturity since the level of sugar in the blood rises and decreases rapidly when individuals consume them. These health problems prevent these young adults to be raised in a healthy way.

Apart from the risks of these foods, offering these items hamper the lifestyle of students. If they realize the taste of hamburgers or coke, they will avoid eating fresh produce which is substantially necessary for them because of its ingredients such as vitamin C or Omega 3. Therefore, once the school management offers unhealthy food, the habits of students will be affected negatively because they will not wish to eat the required intakes such as vegetables or fruits. Consequently, the demand of students towards everyday produce or natural nutrition will vanish as these young adults will prefer junk food more frequently.

To sum up, educational institutions should not aim to profit from selling unhealthy food and drinks due to their adverse effects. Overall, these products prevent these kids to be raised healthily and impede their habits undesirably.