Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food that throws away?

As food plays increasingly more central role in our life, it has been suggested that there has been incline in squandering sustenance not only in food-courts but also at other cafeterias. This nature of humans leads to several devastating inevitable by-products; moreover, this is a worrying trend that looks set to continue in future, however, there are some solutions that can arrest this issue which will be analyzed.

Even though the food at restaurants are costly, sometimes, it is overwhelming to eat, this is because the competition between quality and quantity. As normal human's tendency is to run behind offers, they always been happy to have something extra, as a result they will have left-over, which is often binned. This issue can be mitigated by simple sense of humanity to give away the excess food. As we know, almost a quarter of our populations is suffering from hunger especially in the areas of Africa, India and South East Asia, the hunger deaths are omnipresent. A simple gesture of giving excess food to these people will not only this stop the issue of food-wastage but also can help some people who are hungry.

Not all customers know about the importance of food, as it seems to have myriad resources. Although the availability of food makes an ease to people in some ways, it also brought drawback. In other words, having adequate disposable income. In past the average amount of money which is spent of food by a family is around $50 now with the raise in pay in many countries this amount has been reached to $2000 which is far more than the previous generation families. so the idea of buying something and not consuming is unremarkable. This can be tackled by altering public mind-set, this need to happen via awareness campaigns. One such initiative was taken by ABC channel in last September which was a huge hit in southern India, and the average wastage of food dropped to 8% which was 49% last year.

Unless efforts are made by public to change this attitude, this problem will escalate. While media have a critical role to play, people should take the responsibility in changing their mind-set. I hope the next generation will not have chance to waste their food, if this trend continue.