Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

For the last few decades, the amount of waste produced by inhabitants have significantly increased and governments, obviously, haven’t took enough measures to prevent this situation. If we keep moving forward in this way, the main cities will be flooded by excessive amounts of trash. Let’s consider the main aspects that caused this problem.

In the past years, people become more consumptive and materialistic. They are influenced by a lot of advertisements made by different stores, that encourage folks to throw old mobile phone into the bin and buy a good advertised new model. Folks tend to buy a lot of useless items and change them in short period of time for the newest one. Every sort of electronic item is carefully wrapped in plastic box or package, that would be thrown after the purchase have done.

The same situation happened to the food industry. Many years ago, in the supermarkets or small local shops we were able to bought a fresh meat, vegetables, fruits without useless package or box. Contemporary food sellers have been pressurizing every sort of food for the last 20 years in order to keep it eatable as long as it possible. When you visit a supermarket, you may notice that a lot of dishes are also wrapped in a transparent package.

There are a few possible ways to fight this problem. The most efficient solution is to enable recycling for plastic waste. It’s expansive enough, but it will significantly benefit population. The second is encourage people don’t by excessive numbers of electronic items without need. This could be achieved by different community programs and advertisements proposed by authorities.

In conclusion, I’d like to say that everyone of us ought to pay attention to this problem and government can’t resolve it if we are so lackadaisical.