Once children start to go to school, schools influence them on their intellectual and social development more than parents.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Write at least 250 words.

As children start schooling, school rivals parents in terms of influence and some believe that parents lose this battle to the schools. Whether parents lose their influence over some aspects of their child and whether school indeed gain that is the topic of this essay.

Before schooling, parents teach their child to follow in their footstep in an extensive range of aspects. Bearing in mind that we humans start developing our character as early as in the womb, a child’s only source of data in the early stages of life is parents and family. Parents educate their child both social-wise and intellectual-wise and have a special significance over the child’s self-concept. These crucial steps of personality development usually take place at home and under the dominance of parents. Children’s social positioning and attitude toward other ethnicities and other gender are two of the many topics that parental influence over them is documented.

Yet, schooling stretches a child horizon of social and intellectual development as children first encounter social diversity in schools. There are certain experiences that a child first has to deal with in school with his/her peers, and this time, under influence of their teacher. Therefore, gradually, parents notice that their child is separating his/her attitude from the rest of the family and starts to think differently. A child born to a wealthy high-scale family may start a friendship with a peer from a family with completely different financial status, and contrary to family’s belief, may realize that people financial status is not his/her primary parameter before bonding.

Schools do gain influence over children as a child grows up and wants to rain his/her independence. It is a beneficiary shift of influence that helps a child to examine and familiarize himself/herself with an extensive range of social opinions and make his/her own choice over the way of life. However, parents usually retain their influence over long-term decisions and even after school graduation, parental influence continues to last.