People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern word, it is observed that owing to ever-increasing health consciousness of people; they live longer as compared to past. Although it is often argued that due to longer lifespan of people, they should continue to work, I totally agree with this view because this practice keeps them more happy and healthy even during later part of their life.

To begin with, one prominent advantage of continue to work longer during old age is that one could maintain his or her health in better way. In other words, roles and responsibilities at workplace make people engage in activities and this would make them physically and mentally fit. For an example, most of elder people, who are working for any company, are found healthier than the ordinary ones who are enjoying retirement life.

Additionally, it is an obvious fact that the cost of living of elder people is more as compared to adults because of additional expenditure of medicines, social responsibilities and many more. Moreover, if old age people continue to work, they may not be much dependent on others to enjoy their lives as per their own wishes. In other words, they can enjoy the freedom and do whatever they want to do that gives them immense pleasure and sense of satisfaction. For instance, people who still work in their 60s or 70s can enjoy their life because of their strong financial position.

In conclusion, while in current scenario people are able to live longer, I strongly believe that they should continue to work or engage in any activity which gives them more happiness and healthy life in their retirement lives too.