People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to the advancement in the medical department, people are living longer than ever before. Although some feel that they should spend more time now in their offices, I, however, believe if you have enough money to satisfy your needs, longer working life is not needed.

Firstly, generally, grandparents act as a role model for their grandchildren. So, they tend to apprise them with the moral values which might help them in the long run. While I concede that caretakers can also inculcate these cognitive skills into the children, grandparents have a special bonding with them as they have blood relation. In addition, by spending more time with their grandchildren, grandparents can reduce the chances of mishappening. Hence, seniors require more at home than in the office.

Another reason why senior citizens should no longer work is that they have already done lots of work before retirement. Participating in recreational activities, they might contribute more to society. Not only does it help them to pass their time, but also gives them satisfaction. For example, in Australia, many non-profitable organizations are running by the people over 70’s.

However, despite the arguments above, I do concede that longer workforce is required in order to help the family financially. For instance, if the basic needs of a family is more than the salary of their sole earner, then aged persons must work in the office even after retirement. Therefore, to support the family, longer working life is necessary.

In conclusion, I would say that longer workforce is required if the family is unable to fulfill their basic necessities, aged people should spend their time with their children.