People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, extending the retirement age has been an ongoing controversial topic for decades. Though, thankful to the medical advancements and research people live longer today, but, just as the saying "Old age will not come alone" it doesn't. It brings with it a lot of problems to cope up and hence, I completely disagree with people staying longer in the workforce.

First of all, as said, old age brings with itself other co-morbid conditions which are inevitable. Medical science has made living easier and longer with these diseases but not to delay them. Conditions like Alzheimer's, Parkinsons, Obesity, Hypertension, Insomnia, are prevalent in many elderly that could hamper work. It can make the system more slobby and slagged. On the other hand, the young are blessed with the passion, enthusiasm and the untiring urge to establish themselves and hence, the tasks and targets are easily achieved. Since the old has already accomplished, it is difficult to get that vigour in them.

Secondly, longer the people stay in the position, the fewer seats will be available for the newer to fill in. Companies need young and freshers to come up with innovative ideas and strategies. For instance, current Apple Inc. CEO, Mr Tim cook came up with the idea of changing the buttons and features of ipod to a different style as compared to the one designed by Mr Late Steve Jobs. The sales reached heights because it was more convenient than before.

To sum up, Although People who would stay longer would know more about the company, have more experience and could be more trustful, it does not surpass the demerits. Hence I concur that they should not stay in workforce longer.