The reason that most individuals are in debit is due to the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards Banks should not issue credit cards unless they are completely sure of an individual s ability to pay back their debits To what extent do you

The easy availability of credit cards make majority of card users overspend and lose track of their budget. I completely accord with this notion that the banks need to take strict measures to ensure the security of such payments and not issue cards without investigating the credibility of an individual.

First and foremost, ease of payment of card bills have made the individuals more spendthrift as they get quite a long period for paying the bills. They are presume that the payment has not to be made immediately but in a few days which not only motivates them to buy beyond their means but sometimes even such luxury items which, they otherwise would not have bough. Hence it puts strain on their monthly budget, leading to debts. For instance, In India, majority of banks provide 40-45 days for the credit payment against a credit card, this prompts the individuals to purchase may goods. Moreover, majority of banks also provide easy EMIs to either expensive shopping, or bill payment of credit cards. This trend makes the individuals lose track of necessities and desires.

In order to curtail such irresponsible spending which results in bad debts, the banks need to examine the financial reports of any individual before issuing the credit card. This will not only ensure the safety of the bank's finances, as well as, will also make the individuals aware of any repercussions of not paying the money on time. Besides this, scrutinizing the the individuals' source of income and his capacity to repay, would be an amicable solution to restrict such irresponsible expenditure.

To conclude, I would reiterate that although the issuance of credit cards with easy way of re-payment, makes people more inclined towards spending, but, the banks need to appropriate measures and thoroughly investigate the monetary situation of any individual prior to issuing a credit card.