A report written in the 1960's made the following claim; ‘machine translation is slower and less accurate than human translation and there is no immediate or predictable likelihood of machines taking over this role from humans.’ To what extent do you agree

Machines have always been an important component in all the ages. Therefore I disagree with such statement of machines being less reliable than humans.

It is true that humans have made the machines and modify them on interval basis. In the past, people have scarce resources to develop accurate machines therefore there was quite possibility that machines might have some bugs and inaccurate translation software. As humans are pioneer of machines therefore if we are blaming on machines then ultimately humans skills are being blamed. For example, mathematical configuration or translation passages installed now and even in past were are all human efforts so how machines can be blamed as machines are not self-made but a mere creativity of humans.

One thing that can be considered for claiming the inaccuracy of machines probably would be the inefficient users that actually operated them. People in the past were not as educated and well verse with the technology. Most of the people were skeptical to accept the change. Let's say we are currently living transformer lives where high technology is being introduced and suddenly we may ask to stop using the machines and live the manual working life. It would not be easy for us to accept the change. Similarly, People in past were reluctant to accept the change in the system and therefore they themselves make errors in operating the system and ultimately machines were being blamed.

Machines were and are the most useful gadget we had and have in our lives. They have made our lives more convenient though we do have some drawbacks using such operating technology but come what may machines are incomparable to humans.