Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small number of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss and gi

Language is an important tool for communication. Majority population of the world communicate in wide-spoken languages; meanwhile, languages spoked by a small group of people in a limited region are called small languages, which are facing the fate of extinction. Some people suggest that governments must spend money in protecting these small languages from disappearing; whereas, others think this approach is a waste of money. This essay will discuss about both views before concluding on a personal opinion.

People insist that governments ought to save small languages because language is a crusial media. Once a language dies, the culture, history and wisdom of the people who speak this language also extinct. For example, with the extinction of Maya language, the myththrious Maya history consealed with it. Therefore, some people propose that governments subsidize in protection of small language. The money that derived from public tax will play an important role in keep small languages from the danger of extinction.

Nonetheless, others rejects this proposal and believe it is a waste of money to spend national tax in protecting small languages. First, small languages are doomed to disappear as more and more people are speaking wide-spoken language. People nowadays are learning English, Chinese, French, Spanish and portugese as second language. Second, government fund in protecting small language is inefficient. Money will not deviate people’s need in learning wide-spoken languages to small languages. Thus, people oppose the suggestion that government spend money in protecting small languages.

In conclusion, contention arises regarding whether or not governments should provide financial support in protection of small language from extinction. Personally, I believe that governments should not subsidize in the preservation of small languages because that trend of language. More and more people speak wide-spoken language; in the mean time, fewer and fewer people speak small language. Small languages will extinct eventually.