Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

A foreign language is a new window to the world. With the capability of using a foreign language, people are able to know the history, culture and life style of the country. Regarding the timing to commence the learning of a foreign language, some people deem that primary school is a better phase than secondary school. Personally, I believe that secondary school is the optimum time to begin the study of a foreign language. Starting learn a foreign language in primary education has more disadvantage that advantage of this approach.

To start with, the advantage of commencing learn a foreign language in secondary education is that teenagers are better learners than children. Adolescents study more effitively and productively than children due to the better developed brain. According to a research, the human brain becomes mature at the age of 24. State of a brain in adolescence is comperatively more mature than the state of a brain in childhood. Therefore, start studying a foreign language in high school is more efficient and productive than begin learning in elementry school.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of starting study a foreign language are multiple. One reason is that this approach will add extra burden to children. Children are learning native language during primary education; to start learning a foreign language at the same period will confuse them. The other reason is a childhood should be inplete with pleasure; whereas, learning to language at the same time will render miserable to them. Thus, it is better not to begin learning s foreign language in primary education.

To summarize, learning a foreign language is exential for exploring the world. To start study a foreign language as early as secondary education is more beneficial than learn it in primary school. From my perspective, secondary school is the optimun time to start studying a foreign language.