Some Governments say how many children a family can have in their country should be strictly controlled. They may control the number of children someone has through taxes. Is It sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way?

Over population is a great concern for many under-developed countries and the government takes many steps to control the uncontrolled increase of population. In many countries, government impose rules to restrict the number of children a family can have and also restricts many facilities in case a family has too many children. But imposing a tax to restrict the number of children in a family is not a feasible solution. In my opinion, other ways of controlling the population in a country should be considered rather than imposing the tax.

First of all, the population is the main problem in most of the third world countries whereas the developed countries mostly have control over that issue. In countries like china, the population is not a burden rather they have been able to use the large population as the main workforce for the steady improvement of the country. Overpopulation in an under-developed country directly related to poverty, illiteracy, unhygienic lifestyle and crime. So controlling the population in these countries is a must and imposing a tax on the poor people would not be a good idea. The trends show that educated upper class and middle class do not take more than two children in these countries where the poor people seems like have no control on that. If the government imposes the tax on those poor people, their life would become more miserable.

I completely agree that each government should maintain some policies and should impose strict rules to control the population a country has but increasing awareness and implementing other policies than tax imposing would be better solutions.

In conclusion, I completely agree that the government of a country should take any initiative to control the over population growth but tax imposing to poor people is the least effective solution since there are many alternatives.