Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

These days’ parents want kid's fun time activity to be more educational than rather a waste of the crucial time of young children. My two cents go for full use of children's time in their early learning age with more educative activities. In the following paragraphs, we have examined whether a child's leisure time should be spent in a more structured approach or otherwise.

According to me, structured learning provides a child more opportunity to learn to new things in a methodical way. For example, toddlers don’t have a good grasp to hold a pencil and hence a task based activity to sort out marbles would help them to focus and learn to hold objects. Furthermore, if parents include swimming in their child’s free time. The child can learn a learn a life skill of survival and get a good exercise. As per many empirical evidences, children have a massive ability to learn things quickly till 6 years of age. Many sports players start their training at tender age of 4 years.

On the other hand, unstructured learning harnesses little one’s imaginative cognitive ability and social interaction skills. By playing with doll house, a small girl can learn how to develop communication and behavioural skills, which may be fundamental for growth of some kids but not all. These skills are also learnt at home observing relationships between different family members. Also, there are instances, during the free play, kids become arrogant and are difficult to be managed by parents. This can lead to stress and strained relationship between parents and children.

Hence, it is important to plan small children’s playtime with loads of learning activities, which will be useful for them in future years.