Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. How far do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, one of the most important concerns of government authorities is the scarcity of physical activities among people especially young generation and they try to make motivation for children to overcome this issue by adding competitive sports into school curriculum. A group of people believe that competitive sports should not be as part of school curriculum. I do agree with this idea because of two main reasons which are limited school hours and the importance of studying basic lessons such as math, literature and the like.

It is true that schools’ time table is already full and they have no more time for adding programs such as competitive sports to their schedule and this will waste student’s time in long term. Besides, activities such as competitive sports will distract pupils and they cannot concentrate well on their lessons since being a winner seems appealing to children and they will work hard in order to achieve their aim that is being a victorious. To prove my claim, I can refer to an article, having been published in Time magazine, indicates that 40% of the British students who were involved in competitive sports during school time got unsatisfactory grades at the lessons during the competitions.

Another significant reason for avoiding competitive sports at schools is the crucial role of basic lessons in pupils’ future life. It is proved that learning basic lessons is indispensable for children to continue the higher education in the future which is a key in their success either in life or job. Although activities such as sport, art and music can be useful in children’s development, the importance of learning physic, math, literature and history should not be neglected at schools as they are the next authorities of the world and they should be trained in a reasonable way.

To sum up, children can learn some interpersonal skills such as team work and delegating tasks through competitive sports but this should not be part of school program and they should attend these activities in their leisure time.