Some people believe that government should make investment in building public libraries in every town, while others think it is a waste of money because we have access to information via internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since ancient times, libraries have been in tradition and intrinsic part of education institutes and societies. With the advent of modern technology such as internet, computer etc. people believe that libraries are losing its importance and any expenditure on library is of no use. I shall explain both viewpoints in this essay.

Despite the advancements in accessing information using internet from anywhere, some people prefer to go to library and support that government should provide aids for building libraries in every town. First of all, not every citizen is well versed with the use of computer and internet. Particularly, old people still don’t know how to access the information through internet and visit library daily for reading newspaper, journals, books etc. Secondly, lots of the places in the world lack the required infrastructure to use internet and computer. Especially, under developed and developed countries are struggling with basic infrastructure such as power, clean water, road & transport etc. and people assert that accessing internet for information is not viable option. Finally, accessing information in library is cost effective in contrast to getting information from websites. Even today, people borrow the books from library at nominal cost or read at the library at free of cost.

However, people argue that everything is accessible using technology and hold views that setting up library is wastage. Libraries occupy the space which could be used for other purpose such as gym, theater etc. Furthermore, maintenance of library needs recurring cost which is huge sum amount and instead, should be spent on health or improving the infrastructure. Also, finding information in library is more difficult than internet. Moreover, even libraries are using the internet and computer to arrange their set-up.

To sum up, libraries are still popular and used by many people. But, it is also true that access information over internet is very handy and open infinite sources to search the information. Therefore, government provide limited funds to library as more and more people have started to use the internet.