Some people believe that living in big cities is becoming more difficult. Others believe that it is getting easier. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Many people feel that life in megapolises has become harder recently but other people are more optimistic and say that it is getting easier instead. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument, and then I will present my own point of view.

On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the advantages of living in a big city outweigh the disadvantages. The main reason for claiming this is that the megapolises present significantly more opportunities for work and study. It is also possible to say that in big cities social life is more diverse and interesting. One good illustration of this is the numbers of companies, universities and entertainment parks located in the city, as well as the many events such as festivals and sport competitions held there.

On the other hand, it is also possible to claim that the drawbacks of city life outnumber the benefits. It is often argued that in fact the big cities suffer from ageing infrastructure which cannot meet contemporary demands, and also air pollution. This must be the opinion of people who have to spend too much time in traffic jams trying reach their work. Moreover, the contaminated environment and noise causes worse health among city-dwellers compared to villagers. A second point is that the crime rate outside megapolises is significantly lower. A particularly good example here is the murder statistics.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that life is becoming more convenient in big cities. That is because life in the big cities offers more opportunities for career and leisure.