Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The idea of spending life on performing the same activities and escaping changes appeals many. At the same time, a constant search for change attracts some individuals as well. Below both prospects will be discussed in details and author’s opinion will be stated.

On the one hand, having a calm and unchanging life attracts some people. Firstly, this position allows perfecting one’s activities that are routinely done. For instance, becoming the best swordsmiths in Japan requires to have been forging weapon since early adolescence, only everyday practice allows those craftsmen turn into masters of their art. The same is observed in other activities as well from driving a bus to making a surgery. Secondly, peaceful and stable life provides people with indispensable opportunity to bring up healthy offspring. If a father keeps working in the same company, performing the same job, he will have a steady income to provide his family with all needed goods and a spare time that may be devoted to educating his kids. In other words, unchanging life has an evolutionary advantage and allows a person to excel in his job.

On the other hand, there are those who believe that alteration is always a boon. Firstly, changes may be seen as opportunities to get new experience and knowledge. For example, someone who has worked as a taxi driver, a waiter in a restaurant, office secretary and an actor will surely more mature and wiser than someone who has been working only in one position. Secondly, changes allow people to fight boredom that is often associated with routine. To exemplify, having an adventure or some unexpected shift may wake up a person from debilitating and sad life. It thrills, energizes and makes life better by increasing overall well-being of a person. Thus, from this prospect change is unquestionably an auspicious thing.

In my opinion, both points of view possess some advantages but it appears that the second one is more attractive because life cannot be completely under control and consequently, unexpected shifts are unavoidable and inevitable. Thus, it is better to face them with a smile and positive mood than to try to avoid them.