Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Every year companies spend billions of dollars to promote their product. Nowadays, one of the primary objectives of ads is convincing customers to purchase things that would improve their quality of life. Thus, some people believe that ads are efficient at making people buy new things, while others consider them dull. Although many people tend to avoid watchings adverts, I believe that advertising is still able to attract new customers.

On the one hand, many modern adverts are interruptive. In the modern world, ads are usually displayed at an unexpected moment for people, which can be annoying for potential customers. For instance, it is common for people watching a film to see a commercial advert at an inappropriate moment creating discomfort for viewers. Another reason is that people often find advertising irrelevant. Modern people have developed an ability to ignore unnecessary content like banners or pop-ups and remember only useful pieces of information. Therefore, people find them disturbive and pay for ad blockers or subscription services so as to avoid this in the future.

On the other hand, advertising still attracts new people to buying things. Despite the fact that people negatively react to advertisements, advertising influences their behaviour and encourages them to buy displayed products later. For example, people are most likely to obtain a box of cereal that is more popular instead of healthier alternatives. Furthermore, one of the main goals of advertising is making an impression. Advertisers are known for creating memorable TV commercials with various catchy features like jingles or slogans. In this manner, people purchase things that they are more aware of and have positive impression

In conclusion, even though people tend to skip adverts since they find them irritating and interruptive, they still buy products that are promoted in the media due to their popularity. I consider that advertising is effective.