Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In Kazakhstan, there is a concern in society about the importance of art subjects. The reason for this issue is that they occupy more than twenty-five percent of the time children spend studying at school as well as seems to bring little benefit. Some teachers think that these disciplines are critical to learn at school, but others claim that they are unproductive. This essay agrees with the idea that art is not beneficial for pupils for the following reasons.

The main reason why that art subjects carry no significance to pupils is that they hardly contribute to the development of a successful career. As soon as many people get employed as either engineers or economists, they complain of the useless knowledge of art, which they studied at school. Furthermore, it is said that although art is very interesting to study, it brings no benefit to employment because they cannot apply their study of history to operate computers or plant machines. For example, in Kazakhstan, there is a common belief that if students studied more vocational subjects instead of music and history, they would be more qualified and easier to appeal to employers than those who study art as part of school curriculum.

Nevertheless, some teachers state that it is necessary for children to study art at school. The main arguments for this point of view is that art subjects help children better appreciate the beauty of the world. Human life includes not only employment but also enjoyment of literature and music, which pupils mostly study at school. However, if art was not in school syllabus, students would not know about famous artwork and feel inferior to those who study art at school. For example, some students from the former USSR, who they had not been taught art at school, found it unpleasantly difficult to answer the questions of art asked by students from the USA.

In conclusion, after analyzing, it is clear that even though some teaches advocate that students should study both art and other subjects, art should be replaced by more significant subjects so graduates can easily find jobs.