Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

Family business involve many combinations of relationships such as parent-child, husband-wife, siblings, also extended family members could be involved in board. This trend has many benefits, although it has some detriments attached with it.

On the one hand involving relatives in business at different levels has many advantages. The most important one is that family members are generally more dedicated to the common goals and they do not hesitate to sacrifice for achievement of the company targets. In addition, involvement of closed one in the business creates grounded and firm foundation for the company, also their presence around provides support, trust and comfort. For instance, people involved in the business know the consequences of their action on the business if they or their relatives own it and so they would choose themselves for cut off in case of recession. Furthermore, families are more lenient and forgiving when it comes to working hours, schedules and even mistakes. When family is involved, there is a leeway to work flexible or part time which in turn allow taking care of children, parents and other family members. For example, researches have proved that people working in their own office or workshop are more liberal about the work. Thus, kinsmen in company create a flexible environment with loyalty.

On the other hand, there are some challenges to run business in family. The biggest difficulty is issue regarding succession which might causes conflicts in the relationship involved. This might occur if the older generation does not permit the young generation the needed room to develop and grow. For instance, if the elders of the family do not allow youngsters to take risks, they would never understand how to deal an emergency. Furthermore, business owner might prefer a relative for the job even though he or she does not have adequate skills for the position. This can deteriorate the business, and cause harmful ripples among the employees working hard to secure higher position. For example, no one denies that efficient employees would leave the company if they feel any kind of partiality. Thus, inappropriate referral without ability and clashes could affect the trade adversely.

To conclude, family business would be beneficial in terms of honesty, devotion and liberty, although issues with heredity and favouritism can bring gloomy effects on the environment of the firm.